The Poetry Foundation and Poetry magazine announced Harmony Holiday, Matthew Nienow, Hannah Sanghee Park, Natalie Shapero and Phillip B. Williams as the five recipients of the 2013 Ruth Lilly Fellowships. Each winner received $15,000 in scholarships intended to encourage further study and writing of poetry.

The prize, open to all U.S. poets between 21 and 31 years of age, was established in 1989, originally awarded to one poet nominated by a university writing program. In 2008, the competition opened its restrictions and increased the number of fellowships to five.

“This year's group of fellows—which includes poets whose passions range from community service to woodworking to scholarship—is especially inspiring because their extraordinary talents are so deeply informed by the way in which they have composed their lives,” said Don Share, editor of Poetry, in announcing the 2013 winners.

In 2014, the Ruth Lilly Poetry Fellowships will become the Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Fellowships and, thanks to a gift from the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Memorial Fund, the current $15,000 prize amount will nearly double.

For more information on the prize and winners, click here.