Dennis Bock and Claire Messud are among the writers on the Scotiabank Giller Prize 2013 longlist, announced September 16 from the University of British Columbia's Museum of Anthropology.

Author and 2013 Giller juror Esi Edugyan presented the 13 titles that were chosen from a field of 147 books. Edugyan's fellow jurors this year are Margaret Atwood and Jonathan Lethem.

The Giller Prize will reveal its shortlist on October 8th, and the winner will be announced at a ceremony on November 5th.

Founded in 1994, the Scotiabank Giller Prize recognizes the best in Canadian fiction each year. The prize awards $50,000 annually to the author of the best Canadian novel or short story collection published in English, and $5,000 to each of the finalists.

The full longlist is below.

Dennis Bock, Going Home Again, HarperCollins Canada

Joseph Boyden, The Orenda, Hamish Hamilton Canada

Lynn Coady, Hellgoing, House of Anansi Press

Craig Davidson, Cataract City, Doubleday Canada

Elisabeth De Mariaffi, How To Get Along With Women, Invisible Publishing

David Gilmour, Extraordinary, Patrick Crean Editions

Wayne Grady, Emancipation Day, Doubleday Canada

Louis Hamelin, October 1970, translated by Wayne Grady, House of Anansi Press

Wayne Johnston, The Son of a Certain Woman, Knopf Canada

Claire Messud, The Woman Upstairs, Knopf Canada

Lisa Moore, Caught, House of Anansi Press

Dan Vyleta, The Crooked Maid, HarperCollins Canada

Michael Winter, Minister Without Portfolio, Hamish Hamilton Canada