The Horror Writers Association has chosen Stephen Jones and R. L. Stine as the recipients of its 2014 lifetime achievement award.

The award is the most prestigious of the HWA's Bram Stoker Awards, given in acknowledgment of superior achievement not just in a single work but over an entire career. Past winners include Stephen King, Anne Rice, Joyce Carol Oates, and Ray Bradbury. Winners must have exhibited a "profound, positive impact on the fields of horror and dark fantasy," and be at least 60 years of age or have been published for a minimum of 35 years.

The award will be presented on May 10 as part of the Bram Stoker Awards banquet at the World Horror Convention 2014 in Portland, Ore.