The 2014 winners of the short fiction O. Henry Prize were revealed, recognizing established writers and new, emerging voices. Chosen by series editor Laura Furman, the 20 stories will be collected into a single volume, published as an Anchor Books trade paperback original on September 9.

Established in 1919, the prize is intended to “strengthen the art of the short story and to stimulate younger authors.”

The 2014 O. Henry Prize winners:

Allison Alsup, “Old Houses” (New Orleans Review)
Chanelle Benz, “West of the Known” (The American Reader)
Laura van den Berg, “Opa-Locka” (The Southern Review)
David Bradley, “You Remember the Pin Mill” (
Olivia Clare, “Pétur” (Ecotone)
Stephen Dixon, “Talk” (The American Reader)
Halina Duraj, “Fatherland” (Harvard Review)
Louise Erdrich, “Nero” (The New Yorker)
Rebecca Hirsch Garcia, “A Golden Light” (The Threepenny Review)
Tessa Hadley, “Valentine” (The New Yorker)
Mark Haddon, “The Gun” (Granta)
Kristen Iskandrian, “The Inheritors” (Tin House)
Dylan Landis, “Trust” (Tin House)
Colleen Morrissey, “Good Faith” (The Cincinnati Review)
Chinelo Okparanta, “Fairness” (Subtropics)
Michael Parker, “Deep Eddy” (Southwest Review)
Kirstin Valdez Quade, “Nemecia” (
Maura Stanton, “Oh Shenandoah” (New England Review)
Robert Anthony Siegel, “The Right Imaginary Person” (Tin House)
William Trevor, “The Women” (The New Yorker)