PEN American Center announced that Louise Erdrich will receive the 2014 PEN/Saul Bellow Award for Achievement in American Fiction. Established in memory of Nobel Prize-winning author Saul Bellow, the $25,000 award is presented biannually to a living American author whose "scale of achievement in fiction, over a sustained career, places him or her in the highest rank of American literature."

PEN/Bellow Award judges Edwidge Danticat, Zadie Smith, and E.L. Doctorow will join Erdrich to celebrate the achievement at an awards ceremony on September 29 at The New School Auditorium in New York.