Six finalists for Canada's biggest fiction award, the Scotiabank Giller Prize, were unveiled on October 6. In September, during the reveal of the longlist, prize founder Jack Rabinovitch announced that, beginning this year, the prize purse will double to C$140,000, with C$100,000 going to the winner and C$10,000 to each finalist. This year's winner will be revealed on November 10.

The 2014 Scotiabank Giller Finalists Are:

David Bezmozgis, The Betrayers (HarperCollins Canada)

Frances Itani, Tell (HarperCollins Canada)

Sean Michaels, Us Conductors (Random House Canada)

Heather O'Neill, The Girl Who Was Saturday Night (HarperCollins Canada)

Miriam Toews, All My Puny Sorrows (Knopf Canada)

Padma Viswanathan, The Ever After of Ashwin Rao (Random House Canada)