The National Book Critics Circle has announced 31 finalists in six categories––autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry––for the annual National Book Critic Circle Awards. This year's autobiography category has six finalists, and author Terrance Hayes is nominated in two categories, criticism and poetry.

The winners of three additional prizes have also been announced. The recipient of the Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award is Arte Público Press. Tommy Orange, author of There There, is the recipient of the fifth annual John Leonard Prize, established to recognize outstanding first books in any genre and named in honor of founding NBCC member John Leonard. The recipient of the 2018 Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing is Maureen Corrigan.

The awards will be presented on March 14 at the New School in New York City. The ceremony is free and open to the public. A reading by the finalists will take place the evening before the awards, on March 13, also at the New School. The NBCC hosts a fundraising reception following the March 14 awards ceremony. The tickets, $50 for NBCC members when purchased in advance and $75 to the general public, benefit the NBCC, the awards, and the work that the NBCC does year round to promote books, critics, and writers nationwide.

Here is the complete list of NBCC Award finalists for 2018: