Finalists for the 31st annual Triangle Awards, which honors the best LGBTQ literary works published in 2018, and its annual achievement awards have been announced by the Publishing Triangle, the LGBTQ publishing organization.

The Triangle Awards, which are cosponsored by the Ferro-Grumley Literary Awards and the New School Creative Writing Program, will be presented April 25, 2019 at a ceremony at the Auditorium of the New School.

In addition, the Publishing Triangle announced its acheivement awards. Colombian-born novelist, poet, essayist and translator Jaime Manrique has been awarded the Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement, which is presented in alternating years to male and female-identified writers. The Publishing Triangle also announced that poet Julian Randall has been awarded the Betty Berzon Emerging Writer Award, presented to an LGBTQ writers who has published at least one book.

Paul Willis, founder and executive director of the Saints and Sinners Literary Festival in New Orleans, has been awarded the Publishing Triangle’s Leadership Award, which honors contributors to LGBTQ literature by those who are not primarily writers.

The finalists for the 2019 Triangle Awards for LGBTQ Literature in various categories are below:

Finalists for the Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction

  • Black, Queer, Southern, Women: An Oral History, by E. Patrick Johnson (University of North Carolina Press)
  • Care Work: Dreaming Disability Justice, by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha (Arsenal Pulp Press)
  • The Lesbian South: Southern Feminists, the Women in Print Movement, and the Queer Literary Canon, by Jaime Harker (University of North Carolina Press)
  • Looking for Lorraine: The Radiant and Radical Life of Lorraine Hansberry, by Imani Perry (Beacon Press)

Finalists for the Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction

  • Harvey Milk, by Lillian Faderman (Yale University Press)
  • How to Write an Autobiographical Novel, by Alexander Chee (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • The New Negro: The Life of Alain Locke, by Jeffrey C. Stewart (Oxford University Press)
  • Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation, by Robert W. Fieseler (Liveright/W. W. Norton)

Finalists for the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry

  • Autobiography of a Wound, by Brynne Rebele-Henry (University of Pittsburgh Press)
  • High Ground Coward, by Alicia Mountain (University of Iowa Press)
  • Mosaic of the Dark, by Lisa Dordal (Black Lawrence Press)
  • Rest, by Margaree Little (Four Way Books)

Finalists for the Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry

  • Cenzontle, by Marcelo Hernandez Castillo (BOA Editions)
  • Forgive the Body This Failure, by Blas Falconer (Four Way Books)
  • Luminous Debris: New and Selected Legerdemain, 1992–2017, by Timothy Liu (Barrow Street Press)
  • Not Here, by Hieu Minh Nguyen (Coffee House Press)

Finalists for the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction

  • Freshwater, by Akwaeke Emezi (Grove Press)
  • Heartland, by Ana Simo (Restless Books)
  • The House of Impossible Beauties, by Joseph Cassara (Ecco/HarperCollins)
  • That Was Something, by Dan Callahan (Squares and Rebels)

Finalists for the Publishing Triangle Award for Trans and Gender-Variant Literature

  • Confessions of the Fox, by Jordy Rosenberg (One World/Random House)
  • Holy Wild, by Gwen Benaway (Bookthug Press)
  • Some Animal, by Ely Shipley (Nightboat Books)
  • The Soul of the Stranger, by Joy Ladin (Brandeis University Press)

Finalists for the Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBTQ Fiction

  • Drapetomania, by John R. Gordon (Team Angelica)
  • Eden, by Andrea Kleine (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
  • The Evolution of Love, by Lucy Jane Bledsoe (Rare Bird)
  • A Ladder to the Sky, by John Boyne (Hogarth/Crown)
  • Tin Man, by Sarah Winman (Putnam)