The winners of the 2022 Windham-Campbell Prize, administered by Yale University, have been announced. The prizes offer a $165,000 grant to each recipient and honor a wide array of work, from lifetime achievement to those still developing.

This year, three writers from Africa have been honored, including two from Zimbabwe and one from Nigeria, with two more from the U.S. and two from the U.K. with a final writer who divides their time between Ireland and Asia. The winners are:

  • Tsitsi Dangarembga (Zimbabwe) – fiction
  • Siphiwe Gloria Ndlovu (Zimbabwe) – fiction
  • Margo Jefferson (United States) – nonfiction
  • Emmanuel Iduma (Nigeria) – nonfiction
  • Winsome Pinnock (United Kingdom) – drama
  • Sharon Bridgforth (United States) – drama
  • Wong May (Ireland/Singapore/China) – poetry
  • Zaffar Kunial (United Kingdom) – poetry