On March 4, the Audio Publishers Association (APA) announced the winners of the 2024 Audie Awards, which recognize distinction in audiobooks and spoken-word entertainment, at a ceremony in Los Angeles. The 29th annual award ceremony was hosted by actor and screenwriter Nia Vardalos, and presenters included Lake Bell, Felicia Day, and Constance Zimmer.

The night's biggest honor, Audiobook of the Year, went to the memoir Surrender, written and narrated by Bono and published by Penguin Random House Audio.

Accepting the award was Dan Zitt, senior v-p of content production at Penguin Random House Audio, who, in his speech, thanked PRH Audio publisher Amanda D'Acierno, producer Scott Sherratt, and Universal Music, which allowed the PRH team to include more than 40 tracks of unreleased music in the audiobook.

"I say to my team all the time, sometimes you have to do really hard things to make really great things, and this is a symbol of that," Zitt said. "This audiobook took us two years to make, so standing up here, I have a lot of love for the work everyone in this room does."

Other winners across the 27 awards catagories included Making It So, written and narrated by Patrick Stewart (Autobiography/Memoir); Tom Lake by Ann Patchett, narrated by Meryl Streep (Fiction); Leslie F*cking Jones, written and narrated by Leslie Jones (Humor); Poverty, by America, written by Matthew Desmond and narrated by Dion Graham (Nonfiction); and This Terrible True Thing, written by Jenny Laden and narrated Gail Shalan (Young Adult).

For the first time, the categories of Best Male Narrator and Best Female Narrator were replaced with Best Fiction Narrator and Best Nonfiction Narrator. These new categories were won by Billie Fulford-Brown (for The Last Lifeboat by Hazel Gaynor) and Dion Graham (for King: A Life by Jonathan Eig), respectively.

The complete list of the 2024 Audie Award winners can be found here.