Submissions are open for SPX’s 2014 Ignatz Awards, which recognize outstanding comics and cartooning works by small presses and creator-owned projects. Deadline for submissions is June 7 and winners will be announced at the Small Press Expo in September 2014.

The Ignatz Awards are named after cartoonist George Herriman’s classic newspaper comic strip and are awarded annually at the Small Press Expo (SPX) in Bethesda, Md. SPX is an annual comics festival that showcases the works of small press, self-published and creator-owned projects in the previous year. Nominations for the Ignatz Awards are decided by a five member jury of comics professionals. Winners of the awards are determined by the votes of SPX attendees delivered during the two-day comics festival. Here are the 2013 Ignatz winners and guidelines for submissions.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the Small Press Expo, held in Bethesda, Md. September 13-14.