Rep. John Lewis’s March Book One (Fantagraphics), Isabel Greenberg’s The Encyclopedia of Early Earth (Little, Brown), Adrian Tomine’s “Go Owls" (D&Q), Marguerite Van Cook’s 7 Miles a Second (Fantagraphics) and Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples’ Saga (Image), were among the many wide-ranging comics works nominated for the 2014 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards. Among publishers Image topped the list with 20 nominations, Fantagraphics grabbed 18 and Dark Horse received 12 nominations with DC/Vertigo (ten), IDW (nine), and Self Made Hero (seven) not far behind.

The full list of Eisner Award nominations can be found here.

Three titles had more than three nominations: Hawkeye (Marvel), The Wake (DC/Vertigo) and Saga (Imagez). Three titles received three nominations: March Book One (Top Shelf) by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell, Bluffton: My Summers with Buster by Matt Phelan (Candlewick), and Love and Rockets: New Stories (Fantagraphics).

In addition, a number of titles received multiple Eisner nominations including Pretty Deadly by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Emma Ríos (Image), Hip Hop Family Tree by Ed Piskor (Fantagraphics), The Fifth Beatle by Vivek J. Tiwary, Andrew C. Robinson, and Kyle Baker (Dark Horse), Today Is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life by Ullie Lust, (Fantagraphics), and The Art of Rube Goldberg selected by Jennifer George (Abrams ComicArts). Seven individual artists received three nominations including comics artists Nate Powell and Fiona Staples.

In addition librarian and comics blogger Zainab Akhtar, who edits Panel Mania, PW Comics World’s look at notable upcoming graphic novels, has been nominated in the Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism category for her blog, Comics and Cola.

The judging panel for the 2014 Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards consists of comics retailer Kathy Bottarini, author/educator William H. Foster, reviewer Christian Lipski, Comic-Con International board member Lee Oeth, library curator Jenny Robb and Eisner Award-nominated cartoonist/critic James Romberger, author of Post York (Uncivilized Books) and 7 Miles a Second along with Marguerite Van Cook. (Fantagraphics).

Named after the great comics innovator and creator of the newspaper comics strip, The Spirit, The Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards honor the best comics and graphic novels published in the previous calendar year. The winners are announced at a gala presentation ceremony held July 25 at the San Diego Comic-Con International.