Here are the titles that have been nominated for the 2019 Harvey Awards’ Book of the Year Award. Named after the legendary cartoonist and comics editor Harvey Kurtzman, the Harvey Awards are presented annually to the best comics and graphic novels published in the previous year. The 2019 Harvey Awards will be presented at a ceremony on Friday evening, October 4, during New York Comic Con 2019. A complete list of categories and nominees for the 2019 Harvey Awards can be found on the Harvey Awards website.

Book of the Year Nominees:

Belonging: A German Reckons with History and Home

Nora Krug (Scribner)


Jason Lutes (Drawn & Quarterly)


Ezra Claytan Daniels and Ben Passmore (Fantagraphics)

Hey Kiddo

Jarrett J. Krosoczka (Scholastic Graphix)

Kid Gloves

Lucy Knisley (First Second)

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me

Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell

(First Second)

My Heroes Have Always Been Junkies

Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips (Image)

On a Sunbeam

Tillie Walden (First Second)

Upgrade Soul

Ezra Claytan Daniels (Lion Forge)

When I Arrived at the Castle

Emily Carroll (Koyama Press)

Return to the main feature.