The American Library Association this week announced that two candidates will vie for the 2024-25 ALA presidency: Cindy Hohl, director of policy analysis and operational support at the Kansas City Public Library (Missouri), and Eric D. Suess, director of the Marshall Public Library (Idaho).

Hohl is past president of the American Indian Library Association and is an active member of other ALA affiliates, including the Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association, Black Caucus of ALA, Chinese American Librarians Association and REFORMA. As a member of the Public Library Association, a division of ALA, she currently co-chairs the Membership Advisory Group, and was a member of the PLA Strategic Plan Review Team. Hohl is also a member of several round tables: Intellectual Freedom Round Table (IFRT), Library Research Round Table (LRRT), and Social Responsibilities Round Table (SRRT).

“With recent activities threatening equity of library service, promoting censorship, and targeting library staff through harassment and other forums, there has never been a better time for an experienced library leader to stand for election as ALA President-Elect to lend their voice and provide steady leadership when faced with adversity,” Hohl, in a statement.

Suess is an active member of the Idaho Library Association, a chapter of ALA, where he previously chaired its Intellectual Freedom Committee. He was also a member of the ALA Council for more than 10 years and was involved in several council committees, including the Policy Monitoring Committee, Committee on Legislation and the Committee on Organization. He is also involved with numerous ALA divisions, including the Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC), Core, PLA, and the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA). He also belongs to several round tables, including International Relations Round Table (IRRT), IFRT, Graphic Novels and Comics Round Table (GNCRT) and Games and Gaming Round Table (GAMERT).

“This is a time of significant change and complex challenges," Suess said in his statement. “As we address issues of finance, organization, public perception, and the need for growth, it is crucial that we do so while upholding our professional values with intelligence and passion."

The current ALA president, Lessa Kanani'opua Pelayo-Lozada, will conclude her presidential term at the ALA Annual meeting in June of 2023, at which time president-elect Emily Drabinski will begin her term as the 2023-24 president.

In addition, the ALA nominating committee announced 61 candidates running for a total of 34 at-large seats on the ALA Council. That number includes 32 councilor-at-large seats for the 2023-2026 term, one councilor at-large seat to serve until 2024, and one councilor at-large seat to serve until 2023.

ALA Members who wish to run for ALA Council may still run for office by petition, and have until 11:59 p.m. CDT on Dec. 31, 2022 to file an electronic petition with the ALA executive director. The petition must have the signatures at least 25 current personal members. Instructions for filing petitions and additional election information is available on the ALA Election page.

Ballot mailing for the ALA election will begin on Monday, March 13, 2023 and will run through Wednesday, April 5, 2023. Individuals must be members in good standing to vote in the 2023 ALA Elections. Renew your membership online or by calling 1-800-545-2433, option 1. For more information, please visit the ALA Election page.

Ballot mailing for the election will begin March 13, 2023 and will run through April 5, 2023. Hohl and Suess will engage in a virtual candidates' forum on Wednesday, February 15, 2023 at 2:30 p.m. CDT. Each candidate will have the opportunity to share a statement and answer questions from members. ALA members can register for the forum here.