Browse archive by date:
  • Follett Taps George Coe as COO

    Follett Corporation has appointed George Coe as chief operating officer for Follett and Baker & Taylor, effective March 31. Coe will report to Follett president and CEO Ray Griffith.

  • HMH Names Jack Lynch New CEO

    Jack Lynch, currently CEO of Renaissance Learning, has been named CEO and president of HMH succeeding Linda Zecher, who resigned in September.

  • Changes at 'PW'

    Judith Rosen steps down as senior bookselling editor and New England correspondent, and Ed Nawotka returns as international editor; he'll also cover bookselling. Alex Green will cover New England, and Emma Kantor is the new associate children’s book editor.

  • Christine Ball Named Publisher at Putnam, Dutton, Berkley

    Christine Ball, formerly v-p and deputy publisher at Putnam, Dutton, and Berkley, has been promoted to senior v-p and publisher of the three imprints.

  • Sevier Named Publisher of Grand Central Publishing

    Ben Sevier has been named the new publisher of Grand Central Publishing, taking over for Jamie Raab, who will step down at the end of January.

  • Harvard Press Director Sisler to Retire

    William P. Sisler, director of Harvard University Press (HUP) for nearly 27 years, will retire at the end of the academic year on June 30.

  • Wm. Paul Young’s ‘The Shack’ Heads to the Big Screen: A First Look

    Go behind the scenes with Young and check out photos from the highly-anticipated film adaptation of ‘The Shack,’ which opens in theaters nationwide on March 3.

  • Bopardikar to Succeed Bacon at B&T

    Chitra Bopardikar, v-p and general manager of B&T’s global publishers services, will take over responsibility for B&T’s international retail business as well following John Bacon's retirement at the end of the year.

  • PW Notables of the Year: Suzanne Nossel

    Watching attacks against free speech mount in the Western Hemisphere, Suzanne Nossel will not sit idly by.

  • PW Notables of the Year: Lisa Lucas

    When Lisa Lucas, the new executive director of the National Book Foundation, climbed on the podium at the National Book Awards ceremony in November, her presence and her remarks marked a change at the NBF.

  • PW Notables of the Year: Marcus Leaver

    Following record revenue of over $182 million in 2015, Quarto posted an 8% sales increase in the first half of 2016 over the comparable period of 2015, and CEO Marcus Leaver is hopeful that the publisher will have a fourth straight year of sales increases in 2016.

  • PW Notables of the Year: Rupi Kaur

    Rupi Kaur, a Canadian poet, writer, and spoken-word artist, may only be 24 years old, with only one book published to date.

  • PW Notables of the Year: Carla Hayden

    On October 21, just weeks after she was sworn in as the nation’s 14th librarian of Congress, Carla Hayden stunned observers by removing register of copyrights Maria Pallante.

  • Dominique Raccah: PW Person of the Year, 2016

    In recognition of her determination, creativity, and energy in making Sourcebooks one of the country’s leading independent publishers, Dominique Raccah is PW’s Person of the Year.

  • Sarah Smith Named Editorial Director at Amazon

    Sarah Smith has joined Amazon as editorial director for print and Kindle books, where she will oversee the books editorial team.

  • Popelars Named Associate Publisher at Algonquin

    Craig Popelars, a 22-year veteran at Algonquin Books, has been named associate publisher of its adult division, effective immediately.

  • Norton Names Steven Pace Director of Trade Sales

    Steven Pace, the sales director at Workman, will join W. W. Norton on January 2 as its new director of trade sales, replacing longtime v-p and trade sales director William F. Russin.

  • Jaime Carey Leaving Barnes & Noble

    Jaime Carey, the long-time B&N executive who was named head of the development and restaurant group in June, will leave the company in February after B&N determined he would no longer have his current duties.

  • Reidhead Succeeds McFeely as Norton President

    Julia A. Reidhead, v-p and publishing director of W.W. Norton’s college department, has been named to succeed W. Drake McFeely as president. Reidhead, who has been with Norton for 33 years, is the company's first woman president.

  • Raab, Futter to Step Down at GCP

    Grand Central Publishing president and publisher Jamie Raab and Deb Futter, v-p and editor-in-chief of hardcovers at GCP and publisher of Twelve Books, will both leave the company at the end of January.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.