Al Zuckerman is stepping down as Chairman of Writers House, the literary agency he founded in 1974. Taking over as chairman is Amy Berkower, who most recently served as president of Writers House. Simon Lipskar will be the agency’s new president.

A former prize-winning playwright and a teacher of playwriting at Yale, Zuckerman is the author of two novels and Writing the Blockbuster Novel, published in eight languages, and was scriptwriter for three television series. Under his guidance, Writers House's staff has grown from one to 43. Zuckerman will continue to represent his authors, including Ken Follett, Stephen Hawking, and Michael Lewis.