After its most recent elections, the Association of American Literary Agents (AALA) has named Jennifer Weltz its new director. The Jean V. Naggar Literary agent becomes the next president of the board of the professional organization that represents more than 400 literary agents. Weltz, who has been associated with AALA (formerly known as the Association of Authors Representatives, or AAR) for over 20 years, is replacing Gail Hochman of Brant & Hochman Literary Agents, who has served in the role of president of the board since 2002.

In addition to Weltz's appointment, the AALA elected the following members to its board: Lynn Johnston of Lynn Johnston Literary, Pamela Malpas of Jennifer Lyons Literary Agency, and Soumeya Bendimerad Roberts of HG Literary. Kerry D’Agostino of Curtis Brown, Ltd., Lauren MacLeod of the Strothman Agency, and Monica Odom of Odom Media Management were elected to second terms on the board.

Additionally, Regina Brooks of Serendipity Literary Agency and Kerry D’Agostino of Curtis Brown, Ltd., were confirmed to continue serving in their roles as v-p and secretary of the board of directors, respectively. Pamela Malpas Jennifer Lyons Literary Agency was named treasurer of the board.

Weltz, speaking to her appointment, said: "Throughout my involvement with AAR/AALA over more than 20 years, I have been impressed with the hard work and good will that has infused all of what we do. The implicit understanding that we as agents achieve so much more when we work together has been proven every time as well as the long term relationships that, through service, has enriched my life both professionally and personally. I look forward to being a part of both continuing these fundamental goals while making sure that everyone within our world of agenting is included, mentored, and encouraged to be successful in the profession that we all value so greatly."

Hochman, whose name was not on the ballot for the first time in two decades, has, the AALA said in a statement, showed a "tireless commitment to the organization, to the agent community, and to the fortification of the AALA Canon of Ethics [that] have defined and inspired members of the Board and the AALA community." The board added that it is "indebted to Gail [for her] impressive tenure and for her constant care and vision."

The complete roster of the board of directors of the AALA is as follows:

President - Jennifer Weltz, JVNLA, Inc.

Vice President - Regina Brooks, Serendipity Literary Agency

Treasurer - Pamela Malpas, Jennifer Lyons Literary Agency

Secretary - Kerry D’Agostino, Curtis Brown, Ltd.

Farley Chase, Chase Literary Agency

Lynn Johnston, Lynn Johnston Literary

Katie Kotchman, Don Congdon Associates

Lauren MacLeod, The Strothman Agency

Monica Odom, Odom Media Management

Ayesha Pande, Ayesha Pande Literary

Soumeya Bendimerad Roberts, HG Literary

Kelly Sonnack, Andrea Brown Literary Agency

Monika Woods, Triangle House Literary