Jon Yaged, head of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group, has been promoted to president of all of Macmillan Publishers' U.S. trade group. Jen Besser has been named to succeed Yaged as head of the children’s division.

The promotions follow Don Weisberg’s appointment as CEO of Macmillan Publishers last fall after the departure of John Sargent. Weisberg had been president of the U.S. trade group. Yaged will report to Weisberg and Besser will report to Yaged.

In a memo to employees, Weisberg pointed to Yaged’s strong leadership skills during his 10 years overseeing the children’s division, which saw sales double and profits post even larger gains. Weisberg said Yaged has the values needed to take Macmillan into the future.

“In this year of extraordinary change, it has become even more imperative that the President of the US Trade Publishers have a clear vision not just for the company we are, but for the company that we want to be,” Weisberg wrote. “A company that is always looking to grow and evolve how we work to best reflect our global audience. A company that invests in our employees, authors, and in the communities in which we operate.”

Newly reporting to Yaged will be Tom Doherty, chairman, Tom Doherty Associates; Amy Einhorn, president and publisher, Henry Holt; Jennifer Enderlin, president and publisher, St. Martin’s Publishing Group; Fritz Foy, president and publisher, Tom Doherty Associates; Jonathan Galassi, president, Farrar, Straus and Giroux; Bob Miller, president and publisher, Flatiron Books; Jamie Raab, president and publisher, Celadon Books; Mary Beth Roche, president and publisher, Macmillan Audio; Will Schwalbe, executive v-p, editorial development and content innovation; and Cristina Gilbert, senior v-p, strategic publishing development.

Sally Richardson will become publisher-at-large for Macmillan Publishers and continue to report to Weisberg.

Besser joined Macmillan in 2017 as senior v-p and publishing director of Roaring Brook Press, Farrar, Straus and Giroux Books for Young Readers, and First Second Books. Yaged praised Besser for “ably leading these imprints to new heights of critical and financial success.”

Newly reporting to Besser are Jean Feiwel, senior v-p, publishing director, Feiwel and Friends, Henry Holt Books for Young Readers, and Square Fish; Daniel Nayeri, publisher, Odd Dot; Mariel Dawson, v-p, marketing; Molly Ellis, v-p, executive director, publicity; Kristin Dulaney, v-p, sub rights; and David Briggs, v-p, managing and production editorial.

With Besser’s promotion, Allison Verost is being elevated to senior v-p, publishing director for Roaring Brook Press, FSG BYR, First Second Books, and Priddy Books. She had been senior v-p and deputy publisher of MCPG. She also reports to Besser.