American Christian Fiction Writers honored top Christian novels and novelists at its Awards Gala on Sept. 19 in Dallas, Tex., held during the ACFW annual conference. Francine Rivers, author of Redeeming Love (Multnomah, 2005), Bridge to Haven (Tyndale, 2014) and a host of other bestselling novels, received the 2015 ACFW Lifetime Achievement Award.

“Few people have had the kind of impact that Francine Rivers has had through her Christian fiction,” said ACFW CEO Colleen Coble. “Many readers mark her books as spiritual turning points in their lives.”

The ACFW Carol Awards, honoring novels published in 2014, are named after Carol Johnson, a pioneering fiction editor at Bethany House Publishers and longtime advocate of Christian fiction. This year’s honorees:

The Story Keeper by Lisa Wingate (Tyndale)

Chateau of Secrets by Melanie Dobson (Howard/Simon & Schuster)

Historical Romance:
With Every Breath by Elizabeth Camden (Bethany House/Baker Publishing Group)

A Cry from the Dust by Carrie Stuart Parks (Harper Collins Christian Publishing)

An October Bride by Katie Ganshert (Harper Collins Christian Publishing)

The Wishing Season by Denise Hunter (Harper Collins Christian Publishing)

Romantic Suspense:
Under a Turquoise Sky by Lisa Carter (Abingdon)

Short Novel:
Second Chance Summer by Irene Hannon (Love Inspired)

A Time to Die by Nadine Brandes (Enclave Publishing)

Young Adult:
Storm Siren by Mary Weber (Harper Collins Christian Publishing)

Debut Novel:
For Such a Time by Kate Breslin (Bethany House/Baker)

Also receiving awards were winners of the Genesis Contest for unpublished writers; Agent of the Year, Mary Sue Seymour of The Seymour Agency; Editor of the Year, Sandie Bricker at Bling! Romance (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas); Mentor of the Year, Joy Avery Melville; and several ACFW volunteers.