2017 National Jewish Book Award Winners Announced

The Jewish Book Council has announced the winners for the 2017 National Jewish Book Awards, the 67th installment in North America’s longest-running awards program in the field of Jewish literature

Select winners include:

  • Lioness: Golda Meir and the Nation of Israel by Francine Klagsbrun (Schocken Books) - Everett Family Foundation Book of the Year Award
  • A Horse Walks Into a Bar by David Grossman and translated by Jessica Cohen (Alfred A. Knopf) - JJ Greenberg Memorial Award in Fiction
  • The Book Smugglers: Partisans, Poets, and the Race to Save Jewish Treasures from the Nazis by David Fishman (ForeEdge, an imprint of University Press of New England) - The Holocaust Book Award in Memory of Ernest W. Michel
  • The Weight of Ink by Rachel Kadish (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) - The Miller Family Book Club Award in Memory of Helen Dunn Weinstein and June Keit Miller
  • Waiting for the Light by Alicia Suskin Ostriker (University of Pittsburgh Press) - Berru Award for Poetry in Memory of Ruth and Bernie Weinflash
  • Gary Rosenblatt - Carolyn Starman Hessel Mentorship Award

Click here for the full list of winners.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email: pw@pubservice.com.

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email pw@pubservice.com or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.