Goldstein, Hamby, Kotkin, Snyder Win 2018 Lukas Prizes

Columbia Journalism School and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard have announced the four winners and the two finalists of the 2018 Lukas Prize Project Awards. The awards will be presented at a ceremony on Thursday, May 10, at the Graduate School of Journalism at Columbia University.
The Lukas Prize Project marks its 20th anniversary this year. This also is the first year that two $25,000 Lukas Work-In-Progress Awards will be granted.
Winners & Finalists of the 2018 Lukas Prizes:

The J. Anthony Lukas Work-In-Progress Awards

  • Winner: Chris Hamby, an investigative reporter for BuzzFeed News and Pulitzer Prize winner, has won for Soul Full of Coal Dust: The True Story of an Epic Battle for Justice (Little, Brown)
  • Winner: Rachel Louise Snyder, a journalist who writes about domestic violence and violence studies, has won for No Visible Bruises: What We Don’t Know About Violence Can Kill Us (Bloomsbury)

 The J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize

  • Winner: Amy Goldstein, a staff writer for 30 years at the Washington Post and a Pulitzer Prize winner, has won for Janesville: An American Story (Simon & Schuster)
  • Finalist: Jessica Bruder, a journalist who reports on economic justice and an adjunct professor at Columbia Journalism School, for Nomadland: Surviving America in the Twenty-First Century (W.W. Norton & Company)

 The Mark Lynton History Prize  

  • Winner: Stephen Kotkin, John P. Birkelund Professor in History and International Affairs at Princeton University and a research scholar at the Hoover Institution at Stanford University, has won for Stalin: Waiting for Hitler, 1929-1941 (Penguin Press)
  • Finalist: Caroline Fraser, editor of the Library of America edition of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House books, for Prairie Fires: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder (Metropolitan Books)

Established in 1998, the Lukas Prize Project honors the best in American nonfiction writing.  Co-administered by the Columbia University Graduate School of Journalism and the Nieman Foundation for Journalism at Harvard, and sponsored by the family of the late Mark Lynton, a historian and senior executive at the firm Hunter Douglas in the Netherlands, the Lukas Prize Project presents four awards in three categories annually.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.