Golden Man Booker Prize Shortlist Announced

The shortlist for the Golden Man Booker Prize, the special one-off award honoring the Man Booker Prize’s 50th anniversary, which will crown the best work of fiction from the last five decades of the prize, has been announced. All 51 previous winners were considered by a panel of five specially-appointed judges, each of whom was asked to read the winning novels from one decade of the prize’s history.

The finalists are:

  • In a Free State by V. S. Naipaul
  • Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively
  • The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje
  • Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
  • Lincoln in the Bardo by George Saunders.

Click here for more information.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.