PEN Changes Bingham Prize to Award Short Story Collections Only

The PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize, which previously recognized debut novels in addition to debut fiction collections, will be converted to a prize only for short fiction. It will be awarded for the first time in its new form at the 2019 PEN America Literary Awards in February 2019, and is the first and only prize for a debut short story collection in the United States, PEN America has announced.

Founded in 2002 in honor of the late Robert W. Bingham—novelist, short story writer, co-founder of Open City Books, and advocate of the short form—the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize comes with a cash prize of $25,000. The change comes following the unification of PEN America's New York-based literary awards and its sister awards programs in Los Angeles and Boston.

As a result, the PEN/Hemingway Award for Debut Novel, awarded annually in a ceremony at the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library and Museum in Boston, will be PEN America’s flagship prize celebrating longform debut fiction. The PEN/Hemingway Award also comes with a $25,000 purse.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.