Man Booker International Prize Judges Announced

The judges for the 2019 Man Booker International Prize have been announced, and submissions for the 2019 prize are now open. The judges are: historian, author, and broadcaster Bettany Hughes (chair); writer, translator, and president of English PEN Maureen Freely; philosopher Angie Hobbs; novelist and satirist Elnathan John; and essayist and novelist Pankaj Mishra.

The “Man Booker Dozen” of 12 or 13 books will be announced in March 2019, and the shortlist of six books in April 2019. The winner will be announced in May 2019. The prize is sponsored by Man Group.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.