First Novel Prize Shortlist Announced

The Center for Fiction announced seven debut novels shortlisted for its annual $10,000 First Novel Prize. They are as follows:

Asymmetry by Lisa Halliday (Simon & Schuster)
Confessions of the Fox by Jordy Rosenberg (One World)
Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi (Grove Press)
The Parking Lot Attendant by Nafkote Tamirat (Henry Holt & Co.)
Pretend I’m Dead by Jen Beagin (Scribner)
There There by Tommy Orange (Alfred A. Knopf)
Trenton Makes by Tadzio Koelb (Doubleday)

The winner will be announced on December 11 at The Center for Fiction’s Annual Dinner in New York City, where last year’s First Novel Prize winner, Julie Lekstrom Himes, will present the award.

First created in 2006, the Prize supports the Center's mission to promote the art of fiction in the U.S. and further the careers of new writers.

Also at the dinner on December 11, the Center for Fiction will honor Toni Morrison for a Lifetime of Excellence in Fiction and present the 2018 Maxwell E. Perkins Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Field of Fiction to Sonny Mehta, chairman and editor-in-chief, Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.