Andrew Carnegie Medal Shortlist Announced

The American Library Association (ALA) has announced the six books shortlisted for the Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, awarded for "the previous year's best fiction and nonfiction books written for adult readers and published in the United States." The two winners will be announced at the Reference and User Services Association’s Book and Media Awards, sponsored by NoveList, during the ALA Midwinter Meeting & Exhibits in Seattle, Wash., on January 27, 2019.

The Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction 2019 Shortlist is as follows:

  • Dopesick: Dealers, Doctors, and the Drug Company that Addicted America by Beth Macy (Little, Brown)
  • Heavy: An American Memoir by Kiese Laymon (Scribner)
  • The Line Becomes a River: Dispatches from the Border by Francisco Cantú (Riverhead)

The Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction 2019 Shortlist is as follows:

  • The Great Believers by Rebecca Makkai (Viking)
  • There There by Tommy Orange (Knopf)
  • Washington Black by Esi Edugyan (Knopf)
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.