Laux, Young Join Academy of American Poets Board

Dorianne Laux and Kevin Young have been elected to the Academy of American Poets' board of chancellors. Laux and Young will consult with the organization on matters of artistic programming, serve as judges for the organization’s largest legacy prizes for poets, and act as ambassadors of poetry in the world at large. They were selected by the current members—Elizabeth AlexanderEllen BassMarilyn ChinKwame DawesForrest GanderLinda GregersonTerrance HayesBrenda HillmanMarie HoweDavid St. JohnAlicia Ostriker, and Natasha Trethewey—and will be filling the seats vacated by Khaled Mattawa and Alberto Ríos, whose six-year terms have concluded. 

Only 115 poets have been named chancellors since the board was formed in 1946. Poets among that number include W. H. Auden, John AshberyElizabeth BishopLucille CliftonRita DoveYusef KomunyakaaClaudia RankineAdrienne RichNaomi Shihab NyeMark Strand, and Arthur Sze

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.