AAAL Honors Richard Powers, Bill Henderson, Others

The American Academy of Arts and Letters has announced the recipients of its awards for excellence in the arts. Architect Peter Eisenman and historian David Blight have been awarded the Gold Medals for Architecture and History, respectively, which are given each year in two rotating categories of the arts to those who "have achieved eminence in an entire body of work." Writer Richard Powers has be awarded the William Dean Howells Medal, given every five years for the most distinguished American work of fiction published during that time, for The Overstory (W. W. Norton & Company, 2018). Editor and writer Bill Henderson has been recognized with the Award for Distinguished Service to the Arts, for his significant contribution to the arts as founder and publisher of Pushcart Press. 

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.