Colby Award for Chernobyl Book

Adam Higginbotham was awarded the 2020 William E. Colby Book Award for Midnight in Chernobyl: The Untold Story of the World's Greatest Nuclear Disaster (Simon). Named for former CIA director William Colby, the award is given out by Norwich University and an honorarium is given by the Pritzker Military Museum and Library. Finalists for the award were American Cipher authors Matt Farwell and Michael Ames, and Scholars of Mayhem authors Daniel C. Guiet and Timothy K. Smith. 

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.