2020 Triangle Award Winners Announced

The Publishing Triangle, the association of LGBTQ people in publishing, has announced the winners of the 32nd annual Triangle Awards, honoring the best LGBTQ fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and trans literature published in 2019. On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous by Ocean Vuong (Penguin Press) is the winner of the Ferro-Grumley Award for LGBTQ Fiction, while the Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction goes to Shut Up You’re Pretty by Téa Mutonji (Arsenal Pulp Press). The winner of the Thom Gunn Award for Gay Poetry is Company by Sam Ross (Four Way Books), and the Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry goest to Odes to Lithium by Shira Erlichman (Alice James Books). The winner of the Publishing Triangle Award for Trans and Gender-Variant Literature is I Hope We Choose Love by Kai Cheng Thom (Arsenal Pulp Press).The Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction goes to two books, in the award's first tie: In the Dream House by Carmen Maria Machado (Graywolf Press) and Wayward Lives, Beautiful Experiments: Intimate Histories of Riotous Black Girls, Troublesome Women, and Queer Radicals by Saidiya Hartman (W. W. Norton) The Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction is awarded to How We Fight for Our Lives by Saeed Jones (Simon & Schuster).

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email: pw@pubservice.com.

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email pw@pubservice.com or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.