Lambda Announces Markowitz Award Winners

Xandria Phillips and Calvin Gimpelevich have been named the winners of Lambda Literary's 2020 Judith A. Markowitz Award for Emerging LGBTQ Writers. The award recognizes LGBTQ-identified writers whose work demonstrates their strong potential for promising careers. Each award includes a cash prize of $1,000. The judges for this year's prize were Hannah Ensor and Theodore Kerr. Phillips's poetry collection Hull is also a finalist for the 2020 Lambda Literary Award in Transgender Poetry; Gimpelevich's short story collection, Invasions, was also a finalist for a prior Lambda Literary Award.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.