Mason Wins 2020 JCO Prize

Daniel Mason, author of A Registry of My Passage Upon the Earth and The Winter Soldier (Little, Brown) and two other works of fiction and a clinical assistant professor in the Stanford University Department of Psychiatry, has been named the recipient of the 2020 Joyce Carol Oates Prize by the Simpson Literary Project. The annual prize honors "a mid-career author of fiction who has earned a distinguished reputation and the widespread approbation and gratitude of readers" and "emerged and continually emerging authors of major consequence—short stories and/or novels—at the relatively middle stage of a burgeoning career." Prize winners receive a $50,000 award to encourage and support forthcoming work. The Prize is administered by the Simpson Literary Project.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.