Third Córdova Prize Awarded by Lambda Literary

Lambda Literary announced Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha as the winner of the 2020 Jeanne Córdova Prize for Lesbian/Queer Nonfiction. The award is given to lesbian/queer-identified women and trans/gender non-conforming nonfiction authors committed to capturing the depth and complexity of lesbian/queer life, culture, and/or history. 

Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha is a queer disabled femme writer, cultural worker, and educator of Burgher/Tamil Sri Lankan and Irish/Roma ascent. They are the author of Dirty River: A Queer Femme of Color Dreaming Her Way Home (Arsenal Pulp) among other works.

The award was established in 2018 and includes a cash prize of $2,500. Previous winners are Karen Tongson (2019) and Melissa Febos (2018).

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.