L.L. McKinney Announces Juneteenth Book Festival

L.L. McKinney, the author who developed the #PublishingPaidMe hashtag campaign earlier this month, has announced the Juneteenth Book Festival, which will take place on Friday, June 19. The event is being co-organized by Saraciea Fennell, a book publicist and founder of The Bronx is Reading - Bronx Book Festival

The intention is to "boost and celebrate Black American stories and the people behind them," said the organizers in a press release. “Things are hard right now, and my goal is that we take a moment to celebrate us during all of this," said McKinney, who added that the hope is this will eventually become an annual, in-person event.

At present, more than 30 authors and publishing professionals are scheduled to contribute and participate. These include Tiffany D. Jackson, Angie Thomas, Bethany C. Morrow, Julian Winters, Patrice Caldwell Dhonielle Clayton, Mikki Kendall, Eve Ewing, Tracy Deonn, Kalynn Bayron, Charlotte Nicole Davis, Kwame Mbalia, Karen Strong, Alicia D. Williams, Renée Watson, Nic Stone, Mikki Kendall, Keah Brown, Kacen Callender, Claire Kann, Roya Marsh, Leah Johnson, Lamar Giles, Justin A. Reynolds, Beverly Jenkins, Saraciea Fennell, Nivia Evans, Ashley Woodfolk, among others. 

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email: pw@pubservice.com.

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email pw@pubservice.com or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.