Christine Dwyer Wins Walter Scott Prize

Irish author Christine Dwyer Hickey has won the eleventh Walter Scott Prize for her novel The Narrow Land (Atlantic Books), in which she explores the marriage of the artists Edward and Jo Hopper. The prize is worth £25,000. It was founded in 2009 to honor the best fiction set sixty or more years ago, and is open to novels published in the previous year in the UK, Ireland or the Commonwealth.

Previous winners have hailed from England, Ireland, Scotland and Malaysia, with Irish author Sebastian Barry the only writer to have won the prize twice.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.