University Presses Honor Stuckey-French, McLaughlin

The Association of University Presses presented two awards during its virtual annual meeting on Monday: Larin McLaughlin, editor-in-chief of the University of Washington Press, received the Constituency Award for her commitment to advancing the goals of diversity and inclusion in the university press community; Ned Stuckey-French was awarded posthumously the inaugural StandUP Award to honor people who are not on staff at a university press but who have done extraordinary work to support, defend, and celebrate university presses. Stuckey-French, who died last year, was an associate professor of English at Florida State University who, with PW 2012 Rep of the Year Bruce Joshua Miller, led the successful fight to save the University of Missouri Press from being shut down by its host institution in 2012. He continued to advocate on behalf of threatened scholarly presses, particularly those affiliated with public universities, like the University of Akron Press in 2015 and the University Press of Kentucky in 2018. Stuckey-French's work was lauded at the virtual awards ceremony with a short video produced by Greg Britton, editorial director of Johns Hopkins Press, and his daughter, Maggie Britton.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at:

To subscribe: click here.