CLMP Names 2020 Firecracker Award Winners

The Community of Literary Magazines and Presses has announced the winners of its sixth annual Firecracker Awards, honoring independently published books of fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry and literary magazines in the categories of debut and general excellence. This year, the judges awarded two prizes in the poetry category. The recipient of the fourth annual Lord Nose Award, given in memory of the Jargon Society publisher Jonathan Williams and in recognition of a lifetime of superlative small press publishing.

This year’s Lord Nose Award recipient is W. Paul Coates of Black Classic Press, which specializes in republishing obscure and significant works by and about people of African descent. 

The 2020 Firecracker Award Winners are as follows:

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.