Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards Announced

The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards are awarding six women writers in the early stages of their work with $30,000 grants to support them and provide time to write. The 2020 winners are Hannah Bae (nonfiction), Mari Christmas (fiction), Yalitza Ferreras (fiction), Temim Fruchter (fiction), Elisa Gonzalez (poetry), and Charleen McClure (poetry). 

The program was created "to identify and support emerging women writers of exceptional promise in recognition of the special contributions women writers make to our culture," according to the organizers. Writers of fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry are eligible.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.