2020 American Poets Prizes Announced

The Academy of American Poets has announced the winners of the 2020 American Poets Prizes. This year, the organization has awarded a total of $1,290,250 to poets. The big winner is Nikky Finney, who has received the Wallace Stevens Award, which is given annually to recognize "outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry," and which carries a stipend of $100,000. Carmen Giménez Smith has received the Academy of American Poets Fellowship, which "recognizes distinguished poetic achievement" and carries a stipend of $25,000 and a residency at the T.S. Eliot summer home in Gloucester, Massachusetts. Hanif Abdurraqib's book A Fortune for Your Disaster (Tin House) has received the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, which comes with a $25,000 purse and recognizes "the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year." For further information on the other awards, click here.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email: pw@pubservice.com.

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email pw@pubservice.com or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.