Inaugural PEN America/L’Engle-Rahman Prize for Mentorship Recipients Announced

PEN America has announced that Benjamin Frandsen and Noelia Cerna, Elizabeth Hawes and Jeffrey James Keyes, Derek Trumbo and Agustin Lopez, and Seth Wittner and Katrinka Moore are the inaugural recipients of the PEN America/L’Engle-Rahman Prize for Mentorship. Named for the late author Madeleine L’Engle and her 10-year written friendship with scholar, writer, and former Black Party leader Ahmad Rahman, the award honors four mentor/mentee pairs in PEN America’s Prison Writing Mentorship Program, which links established writers with those currently incarcerated. the prize is endowed by the L’Engle family.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email:

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.