'n+1' Names First Anthony Veasna So Prize Winner

Trevor Shikaze has won n+1's inaugural Anthony Veasna So Fiction Prize, a new $5,000 award established this year in memory of So, a contributor to the journal who died in 2020. Shikaze, who "taught himself to write while working as a salesclerk at a family-run bookstore in Alberta," has placed work in n+1, the Baffler, the Walrus, and more. In addition, Christina Nichol has been awarded the n+1 Writers’ Fellowship, a $5,000 award given annually for the past six years to an n+1 contributor whose writing "captures the spirit of n+1 and has been an important part of the magazine’s evolution." Nichol won a Rona Jaffe Writers Award in 2012 for her novel Waiting for the Electricity and, in 2019, was a Fulbright Scholar in India; she teaches environmental studies at Sonoma State University. A virtual award ceremony to celebrate the winners will be held on Wednesday, May 26 at 7:30 p.m. ET.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at: mike@nextstepsmarketing.com.

To subscribe: click here.