Vintage Acquires 'Queen's Gambit' Author's Backlist

Vintage Books will publish the entire adult backlist of Walter Tevis, the author of The Queen's Gambit, including a never-before-published collection of short fiction. In addition to the original story collection The King is Dead, the deal includes 1963's The Man Who Fell to Earth, which is currently in production as a series at Showtime; 1959's The Hustler; Mockingbird (1980); The Steps of the Sun (1983); and The Color of Money (1984). The deal was made by Vintage Books executive editor Edward Kastenmeier, working with the Susan Schulman Literary Agency. The books will be published in 2022, and will mark the first time that all Tevis’s adult work has been in print at the same time.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at:

To subscribe: click here.