Center for Fiction Announces 2021 First Novel Prize Longlist

The Center for Fiction has announced the longlist for the 2021 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. The 27 titles were selected by 116 volunteer readers from 143 submissions with U.S. publication dates between January 1, 2021, and December 31, 2021. The winner will receive a $15,000 prize, with each of the other shortlisted authors receiving $1,000. The shortlisted titles will be announced this fall, and the winner will be announced in December at the Center's annual awards benefit.

The longlist is as follows:

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at:

To subscribe: click here.