2021 American Poets Prizes Announced

The Academy of American Poets has named the winners of the 2021 American Poets Prizes. Toi Derricotte has received the Wallace Stevens Award, given annually to recognize "outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry"; the award comes with a stipend of $100,000. 

Camille T. Dungy has received the Academy of American Poets Fellowship, which "recognizes distinguished poetic achievement," which comes with a stipend of $25,000 and a residency at T.S. Eliot's summer home in Gloucester, Mass. Honorée Fanonne Jeffers has received the Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize, which recognizes "the most outstanding book of poetry published in the United States in the previous year" and comes with a $25,000 purse.

In addition, James Cagney has won the James Laughlin Award, Carlos Aguasaco has won the Ambroggio Prize, Maria Dahvana Headley has won the Harold Morton Landon Translation Award, Paula Bohince has been named to the Raiziss/De Palchi Fellowship, and Edwin Williamson has won the Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award.

For more information, click here.

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at: mike@nextstepsmarketing.com.

To subscribe: click here.