2021 NBF 5 Under 35 Honorees Announced

The National Book Foundation has announced its annual 5 Under 35 honorees, a se­­lection of "five fiction writers under the age of 35 whose debut work promises to leave a lasting impression on the literary landscape." Each honoree was selected by a National Book Award winner, finalist, or longlisted author, or by an author previously recognized by the 5 Under 35 program.

The 2021 5 Under 35 honorees are:

  • Caleb Azumah Nelson for Open Water (Black Cat), selected by Brit Bennett (2020 National Book Award Longlist for Fiction and 2016 5 Under 35 honoree)
  • Nathan Harris for The Sweetness of Water (Little, Brown), selected by Charmaine Craig (2017 National Book Award Longlist for Fiction)
  • Lee Lai for Stone Fruit (Fantagraphics), selected by Bryan Washington (2019 5 Under 35 honoree)
  • Claire Luchette for Agatha of Little Neon (FSG), selected by Elizabeth McCracken (1996 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction, 2014 National Book Award Longlist for Fiction, 2021 National Book Award Longlist for Fiction)
  • Dantiel W. Moniz for Milk Blood Heat (Grove), selected by Rumaan Alam (2020 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction)
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at: mike@nextstepsmarketing.com.

To subscribe: click here.