2021 Dayton Literary Peace Prize Winners Announced

The 2021 Dayton Literary Peace Prize was awarded to two books centering World War II. Alexander Starritt’s novel We Germans won the prize for fiction and Ariana Neumann’s family memoir When Time Stopped won the prize for nonfiction. Winners receive a $10,000 honorarium will be honored during a gala weekend in Dayton on November 13 and November 14.

The Mountains Sing by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai was named runner-up for fiction, and The Road from Raqqa by Jordan Ritter Conn was named runner-up for nonfiction. Runners-up receive a $5,000 honorarium.

Honorees were selected by a judging panel comprised of Richard Bausch, Garnette Cadogan, Anne Fadiman, and Diane Roberts. The Dayton Literary Peace Prize, launched in 2006, recognizes authors "whose work advances peace as a solution to conflict, and leads readers to a better understanding of other cultures, peoples, religions, and political points of view." 

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at: mike@nextstepsmarketing.com.

To subscribe: click here.