Mark Twain Award Shortlist Announced

The Mark Twain House & Museum has announced the shortlist for its 2021 Mark Twain American Voice in Literature Award. The Award, founded and underwritten by Twain House trustee and author David Baldacci, comes with a $25,000 cash prize. The winner will be announced November 1 and an award ceremony at the Mark Twain House & Museum in Hartford, Conn., is slated for December 1.

The Award, first presented in 2016, recognizes a work of fiction published during the previous calendar year that "best exemplifies or expresses a uniquely American voice." This year's judges were Jacques Lamarre, Donna Larcen, and Olivia White.

The 2021 Mark Twain American Voice in Literature Award finalists are:

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at:

To subscribe: click here.