2022 Joyce Carol Oates Prize Longlist Announced

The longlist for the sixth annual 2022 Joyce Carol Oates Prize, which honors mid-career authors in fiction, has been announced. The $50,000 prize will be administered by the New Literary Project, in collaboration with the University of California, Berkeley's English department. Previous winners include Danielle Evans, author of The Office of Historical Corrections (Riverhead); Laila Lalami, author of The Other Americans (Pantheon); and Anthony Marra, author of ​The Tsar of Love and Techno (Hogarth). 

The 37 longlisted authors are listed below, along with their most recent titles: 

  • Megan Abbott, The Turnout (Putnam)
  • Kristen Arnett, With Teeth (Riverhead)
  • Christopher Beha, The Index of Self-destructive Acts (Tin House)
  • Matt Bell, Appleseed (Custom House)
  • Venita Blackburn, How to Wrestle a Girl (MCD)
  • Amina Cain, Indelicacy (FSG)
  • Dan Chaon, Sleepwalk (Henry Holt)
  • Josh Cohen, The Netanyahus (New York Review Books)
  • Lucy Corin, The Swank Hotel (Graywolf)
  • Katie Crouch, Embassy Wife (FSG)
  • Louis Edwards, Ramadan Ramsey (Amistad)
  • Percival Everett, The Trees (Graywolf)
  • Jonathan Evison, Legends of the North Cascades (Algonquin)
  • Rivka Galchen, Everyone Knows Your Mother Is a Witch (FSG)
  • Kaitlyn Greenidge, Libertie (Algonquin)
  • Lauren Groff, Matrix (Riverhead)
  • Joshua Henken, Morningside Height (Pantheon)
  • Caitlin Horrocks, Life among the Terranauts (Little, Brown)
  • Jessica Francis Kane, Rules for Visiting (Penguin Press)
  • Katie Kitamura, Intimacies (Riverhead)
  • Alexandra Kleeman, Something New Under the Sun (Hogarth)
  • Shelia Kohler, Open Secrets (Penguin)
  • Jean Hanff Korelitz, The Plot (Celadon)
  • Zachary Lazar: Vengeance, (Catapult)
  • Jonathan Lethem, The Arrest (Ecco)
  • Atticus Lish, The War for Gloria (Knopf)
  • Jason Mott, Hell of a Book (Dutton)
  • Ruth Ozeki, The Book of Form and Emptiness (Viking)
  • Kathleen Rooney, Cher Ami and Major Whittlesey (Penguin)
  • Maggie Shipstead, Great Circle (Knopf)
  • Joan Silber, Secrets of Happiness (Counterpoint)
  • Dana Spiotta, Wayward (Knopf)
  • Brandon Taylor, Filthy Animal (Riverhead)
  • Laura van den Berg, I Hold a Wolf by the Ears (FSG)
  • Vendela Vida, We Run the Tides (Ecco)
  • Bryan Washington, Memorial (Riverhead)
  • Tiphanie Yanique, Monster in the Middle (Riverhead)
Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at: mike@nextstepsmarketing.com.

To subscribe: click here.