2022 Story Prize Finalists Announced

The Story Prize, founded in 2004 and underwritten by the Chisholm foundation, honors excellence in short short story collections. Previous winners of the $20,000 Story Prize include Everything Inside by Edwidge Danticat, Memory Wall by Anthony Doerr, Florida by Lauren Groff, Tenth of December by George Saunders, Anything Is Possible by Elizabeth Strout, Battleborn by Claire Vaye Watkins, and, most recently, The Secret Lives of Church Ladies by Deesha Philyaw. Runners-up each receive $5,000. 

This year’s Story Prize finalists were chosen from 119 submissions representing 90 different publishers or imprints. They are:


Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Forgot Password

Premium online access is only available to PW subscribers. If you have an active subscription and need to set up or change your password, please click here.

New to PW? To set up immediate access, click here.

NOTE: If you had a previous PW subscription, click here to reactivate your immediate access. PW site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. If working at an office location and you are not "logged in", simply close and relaunch your preferred browser. For off-site access, click here. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options, please email Mike Popalardo at: mike@nextstepsmarketing.com.

To subscribe: click here.