2015 National Book Awards Fiction Longlist

As part of its weeklong rollout of this year's finalists, today the National Book Foundation released the 2015 longlist for the National Book Award for Fiction. Literary agent Bill Clegg, Lauren Groff, Pulitzer Prize winner Adam Johnson, and Hanya Yanagihara are all in contention. 

The finalists will be announced on October 14, and the winners will be revealed on November 18. 

2015 Longlist for the National Book Award for Fiction:

Jesse Ball, A Cure for Suicide

Pantheon Books/Penguin Random House


Bill Clegg, Did You Ever Have a Family

Scout Press/Simon & Schuster


Karen E. Bender, Refund

Soft Skull/Counterpoint Press


Angela Flournoy, The Turner House

Houghton Mifflin Harcourt


Lauren Groff, Fates and Furies

Riverhead Books/Penguin Random House


Adam Johnson, Fortune Smiles

Random House/Penguin Random House


T. Geronimo Johnson, Welcome to Braggsville

William Morrow/HarperCollins


Edith Pearlman, Honeydew

Little, Brown/Hachette Book Group


Hanya Yanagihara, A Little Life

Doubleday/Penguin Random House


Nell Zink, Mislaid

The Ecco Press/HarperCollins

Stay ahead with
Tip Sheet!
Free newsletter: the hottest new books, features and more
Email Address


Log In Lost Password

Parts of this site are only available to paying PW subscribers. Subscribers: to set up your digital access click here.

To subscribe, click here.

PW “All Access” site license members have access to PW’s subscriber-only website content. Simply close and relaunch your preferred browser to log-in. To find out more about PW’s site license subscription options please email: pw@pubservice.com.

If you have questions or need assistance setting up your account please email pw@pubservice.com or call 1-800-278-2991 (U.S.) or 1-818-487-2069 (all other countries), Monday-Friday between 5am and 5pm Pacific time for assistance.

Not Registered? Click here.